What Are Chakras & Why Are They Important?

Within our bodies, we have seven major Chakra energy centres and many more minor ones.

The major Chakras are aligned in an ascending column from the base of the spine to the top of the head. You can imagine that Chakras are like invisible, rechargeable batteries.

Each of the seven main Chakras are connected to specific organs, glands and body systems and each Chakra is connected to a color vibration frequency – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet.

They regulate the flow of energy throughout the electrical network (meridians) that runs through the physical body. If the body’s ‘energy system’ cannot flow freely it is very likely that problems can occur.

Our Chakras can become imbalanced by toxins and other impurities, which include negative thoughts, additives in our food and environmental factors.

Having all your Chakras aligned and in balance results in a dynamic, harmonious, peaceful and abundant life.

Are my Chakras unbalanced?

Our Chakras are influenced by everything we do, and go in and out of alignment and balance naturally. From minor illnesses, the daily stresses of living in a fast-paced world, negative experiences and exposure to toxins, our Chakras need to be realigned to eliminate dis-ease of your mind, body and spirit.

All of your Chakras are linked, so if one of them is blocked or out of balance, you might feel ‘not quite right’, discomfort or a sense of being mentally and emotionally out of balance.
Sometimes the total energy of each Chakra can be diminished and sometimes it can be enlarged and become ‘too open’ which puts your body out of balance.

What can I do to balance and strengthen my Chakras?

There’s a variety of ways that you can balance and restore your Chakras. You are probably already familiar with a lot of them too – Reiki, Meditation, Visualization, Yoga and Aromatherapy are a few of the many Chakra balancing modalities available.

How do I know which Chakra to focus on?

Here are a few tips
•    Look for the areas or ailments that are affecting you.
•    You can use your intuition as a guide (you might feel drawn to a specific color).
•    You can do a full Chakra balance by getting a healing session with me.


Here’s a brief description of each of the 7 major Chakras:

Muladhara:  Root Chakra (Colour – Red)
The energy of a balanced root chakra assist with focus on the physical body, connection to the earth and life force.
Physical body affects: adrenals, kidneys, spinal column, colon, legs, bones.
Blockages: paranoia, insecurity, and a feeling of being ungrounded.
Too Open: dishonesty, bullying, hyperactivity, being overly defensive.

Svadhisthana: Sacral Chakra (Colour – Orange)
The energy of a balanced sacral chakra manifests enhancing feelings of connection to ones self and others.
Physical body affects: ovaries, testicles, prostate, genitals, spleen, womb, bladder.
Blockages: emotional problems, sexual guilt and suppressing natural needs.
Too Open: sexual addictive, manipulative and excessive behavior.

Manipura: Solar Plexus Chakra (Colour – Yellow)
The energy of a balanced solar plexus chakra enhances self-confidence, self-esteem and self worth.
Physical body affects: pancreas, adrenals, liver, stomach, gallbladder, nervous system, muscles.
Blockages: sense of victimization, inability to manifest, over emotional and possessive love, need for material security, afraid of being alone.
Too Open: judgmental, workaholic, anger, lack of humor, addictive behavior.

Anahata: Heart Chakra (Colour – Green)
The energy of a balanced heart chakra manifests openness, trust, love, joy and inner peace.
Physical body affects: heart, thymus gland, circulatory system, arms, hands, lungs.
Blockages: immune system or heart problems, lack of compassion, generosity and love emotions, fear and rage, feeling stuck and fearful, self-pity, feeling unworthy and fearing rejection.
Too Open: an over stimulated heart chakra can result in a ‘bleeding heart’ and possessiveness.

Vishuddha: Throat Chakra (Colour – Blue)
A balanced throat chakra enhances our truth, communication and expression of feelings.
Physical body affects: thyroid, parathyroid, hypothalamus, throat, mouth.
Blockages: sore throats and laryngitis, creative blocks or problems communicating with others; rigidity, prejudice and not listening to others.
Too Open: over-talkative, arrogant, self-righteous.

Ajna: Third Eye Chakra (Colour – Indigo)
A balanced third eye chakra enhances intuition, imagination, wisdom and decision making.
Physical body affects: pituitary gland, pineal gland, left eye, nose, ears.
Blockages: can manifest as sinus and eye problems, confusion, wishing to control others, egotistical, unable to think deeply.
Too Open: impatience and authoritarian.

Sahasrara: Crown Chakra (Colour – Violet)
A balanced crown chakra assists with meditation, inner and outer beauty, connection and states of bliss.
Physical body affects: vitalizes the upper brain (cerebrum).
Blockages: can manifest emotional problems like feelings of alienation and condemnation, over-active thinking, dissatisfaction, anxiety, depression.
Too Open: psychotic or manic depressive, frustrated.

Our energy field is an exceptionally well-designed system but stress, trauma and painful memories can all affect the flow of energy in our bodies.

In order for our bodies to function in an optimal way, all of our 7 chakras need to be balanced and allowing our energy to flow smoothly through our bodies. If one of the energy centers is not functioning well, then the others won’t function as well as they should. Some of them can even work too much or too hard (the third eyes, over-thinking chakra is typical of this!), which also sends our bodies and emotions into free-fall.

In today’s society, it’s incredibly difficult to keep our chakras balanced- we are all rushing around, worried about what others think of us and not taking enough time for ourselves. However, there are ways you can heal and balance yourself if you truly want to, and are ready. I am always here to help guide you in any way I can.

I really hope this has helped you. Much love and abundant health.